My First Road Trip – USA Summer 1998

Since I was a little a girl I always wanted to visit America. The land of the movies! As a little girl I never got the chance but in the summer of 1998, before my last year at university, I finally fulfilled that dream! I went to work at a summer camp in Pennsylvania, and after, embarked on a road trip that would see me travel from New York to San Francisco and back – all on a greyhound bus! It’s well seen I was only 21! (Only the back of a 21 year old can survive 60 hours straight on a greyhound bus)!

It was my first real taste of travel. My first time outside of Europe, and the first time I experienced that feeling that only travel can bring. The feeling of total independence, that anything could happen, excitement tinged with fear. I knew I was hooked from that moment on. This is where my taste for Wanderlust began………….

20130414-220148.jpg
Starting in New York (the Twin Towers still visible) The Journey began…

20130414-220356.jpg
Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco with Alcatraz in the background. We had already travelled the breadth of the country…

20130414-220624.jpg
Sausalito at the other side of The Golden Gate Bridge. A Beautiful town that felt more European than American. We had walked all the way there from Fisherman’s Wharf so were quite knackered by the time we got there…

20130414-222730.jpg

Hollywood Boulevard – Finally in the Land of the Movies!  I actualy didn’t like it even near as much as San Francisco or New York…

20130414-221247.jpg
Vegas Baby!!!! What can I say? We were up all night and had to board the Greyhound bus back to SF without any sleep! What happens in Vegas…

20130414-221509.jpg
My first view of the Grand Canyon. Our guide lead us to the edge individually with our eyes closed. When I opened my eyes it took my breath away…

20130414-221652.jpg
Sunset at the rim of the Grand Canyon. An experience I’ll never forget!

It’s almost 15 years since that trip now but I cherish these photos and the memories they gave me. As the saying goes “Collect Memories – Not Possesions”

HERE’S TO A FEW MORE! 🙂

One response to “My First Road Trip – USA Summer 1998

Leave a Reply

