Lhasa to Kathmandu Ride – Landscape Photo Essay

Here are a selection of some of my favourite photographs from my recent bike ride between Lhasa and Kathmandu. It doesn’t tell the entire story but it gives you an idea of the drama of the landscape we were cycling through!

image

Still at moderate altitude this was taken on the first day riding out of Lhasa.      

image

Top of the Kamba La pass at 4700m. The colour of the lake was incredible!

image

Middle of “nowhere” and 5000km to Bejing!

image

The road ahead always looked long!

image

And the drama of the landscape was breathtaking!

image

A beautiful calm morning just before we headed off road To Mt Everest.

image

Top of the 5200m Pang La pass.  Unfortunately too cloudy to get our first view of Mt Everest.

image

Looking back down the final road that leads to Rongbuk and Everest Base Camp.

image

The vastness and drama of the scenery that surrounded us was amazing!

image

As we descended down heading back into Nepal the sudden change in landscape was astounding!

image

Back in the lush, green valleys of Nepal! 

image

From the last day as we cycled round the outskirts of Kathmandu.

Still to come in my next series of photo essays from Tibet and Nepal :

* The People and Culture

* Mount Everest

* The Random moments

And then finally I can get onto Incredible INDIA…………..!

6 responses to “Lhasa to Kathmandu Ride – Landscape Photo Essay

  1. Awesome adventure, and some great pictures to show for it. Now I will be romanticising about bike holidays again and my husband will have to remind me I don’t like bike riding that much. Although I think it’s time I gave it another go – my taste may have adapted. I could certainly be persuaded if I followed in your wheel tracks here.

Leave a Reply

